Topsy turvy

Thanks for the suggestions on summer tops.  Now that I’ve thought about it, I’ve got some good ideas going.

Momawake suggested that I shorten a dress.  Not a bad thought, I think.  Chopping off the bottom half of a lot of dresses makes them look rather incomplete, but I think this Vogue dress would possibly lend itself well to such an application:

V8529

Mikhaela suggested sweetheart neckline knit tops.  Check.  I love this Simplicity pattern.

2364

Mikhaela also got me thinking vintage with all the lovely linking to her own stash of patterns.  I found this pattern on Etsy–Ooh, I’ve got big plans for this one that involve a beloved Britcom.  More on that later.

Butterick Back Buttoned Overblouse Pattern 1950s
And this…oops, not a top.  Focus E!
A lovely PR’er was offering her old Burdas for cheap.  I picked up 2/2007 and  found this lovely in it:
Modell Photo It has gathered sleeve caps, which I hate, but they don’t look too poofy, so maybe I can handle it.
Lots of dresses in this issue too, but I won’t bore you.
My last pick is Burdastyle Ute. 
6020_tech_large
When this pattern first came out, I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not.  I blame it on styling.  I love the tie-neck and the princess seams.  I think the sleeves have darts in them at the top instead of gathers, which weirds me out less.  I like the shaped sleeve bands–interesting.  The Peter Pan collar variation is fun too.  Burdastyle users’ Utes all look great too, so why not?
Much to think about…

3 thoughts on “Topsy turvy

  1. I’m with Mikhaela!! Totally fabulous!! You need summer dresses, right?? I have the Ute pattern and keep forgetting about it. I need to print out my PDF patterns so that when I am trolling for something to make I remember that they exist!

    I’ve been contemplating your binding question on my blog, and I’m thinking that the next project I bind I’ll take a couple of pictures and explain the process perhaps. For those of us (ME!) without a coverstitcher it’s nice to be able to bind knits prettily on a regular machine.

Leave a comment