Netting tee

netlacetop

Whew!  I’m in the process of moving my site over to wordpress.org as well as writing 2 articles for 2 different sewing magazines.  While I’m in the process of that, I will be blogging my unblogged projects to create the illusion that sewing is happening when in reality writing, photography, and website management are taking up all my waking hours.

First up, this tee made from a cotton/poly netted lace.  I had in my mind the idea of a spring “sweater”.  I use the term loosely because the netting does not keep you warm in the slightest.  Still, it’s an unusual fabric, and I wanted to let it be it’s weird self.

netlace

Because the netting creates 4 way stretch even though this is technically not a knit, I chose a simple pattern in Burdastyle 3-2013-116.

The dropped shoulders make for a loose, easy fit, and the boxy shape allows you to wear a slimmer shirt underneath and not stretch out this delicate fabric.

netlaceflat

To avoid the inevitable distortion that would happen by hemming this fabric, I opted for knit bands on the neckline, sleeves, and hem.  This was much simpler and made for a nice clean look.

I love the relaxed feel of this top even though the ventilation factor limits its wearing versatility.

My review of the top is here.

10 thoughts on “Netting tee

  1. What a fun top! I’ve never seen fabric like this. I bet you’ll get lots of use out of it during warm weather!

Leave a comment