Unfinished, Not started

 

nsocouchswatches

Do you ever start a project with great intentions?  In the moment you have to have that thing right.this.second.  Then for whatever reason, it sits in a corner, and every time you pass by it, you toss your hands up in the air and go, meh.  What happened to that spark?

For me, UFOs don’t happen too much.  I prefer working on one thing at a time and finishing as best as I can before moving along.  Once in a while, though, things get away from you and there’s something missing a button or waiting for a hem to be sewn.

ufozipbag

I couldn’t decide on a zipper or whether I wanted to use the right side or the wrong side of the upholstery fabric for this poor, dismembered zipper bag.  Though I could make it up in about 10 minutes, I set it back on the window sill where’s it has been living.

ufosamsonite

This vintage Samsonite case covered in a cool fashion print from a TJ Maxx bag (of all places) needs another layer of ModPodge, but first, I have to rid the first layer of those gross little glue crusties.  Hence the sitting for a month (or two, who remembers?)

ufovest

And this vest legitimately just needs tack buttons and an iron-on patch that are both in the mail.  The buttons will be here on Friday and the patch…who knows, but at least there’s hope for this one.

Or, are you the type that has grand visions that just never get started?  NSOs, let’s call them.  I think NSOs are how stashes happen.  You buy several yards of this or that because you have x project in mind only to find it years later buried under some forgotten, very odd vintage wool.  When you pull it out, you find yourself muttering, “I bought this, why?!”

I have lots of jacket NSOs…everything is bought for them.  I just need to find the time and motivation to cut them out and go…yet, they linger.

nsocouchfabric

My largest NSO to date is the loveseat in my sewing room that needs to be recovered.  I already ripped off one of the covers on one cushion to start, knowing that would be the point of no return.  But I haven’t gathered all of my supplies beyond the 10 yards of fabric that I’ll need.  Having sewn enough home dec fabric, I’m also not looking forward to the cutting process.  Wrangling home fabrics takes a lot out of you, but I know I will enjoy the upholstery process and even more the finished couch.

What about you?  Are you surrounded by UFOs?  Do NSOs haunt your dreams?  Cast your vote!

 

8 thoughts on “Unfinished, Not started

  1. I think the phrase for NSO is really “fabric stash” – at least that’s where MY fabric stash comes from!

  2. UFOs aren’t a huge problem for me (though I have a couple right now–threw away the others when I moved), but a stash filled with NSOs is a whole other story. On the other hand, though, I can almost pretend I’m a collector and connoisseur of fabric rather than project planner…

  3. Ah, and there is a lot of fine fabric to appreciate!  You have a wine cellar of fabric. From: ~E Made This! To: elizabethmadethis@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, April 8, 2015 9:30 AM Subject: [~E Made This!] Comment: “Unfinished, Not started” #yiv8809597234 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8809597234 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8809597234 a.yiv8809597234primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8809597234 a.yiv8809597234primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8809597234 a.yiv8809597234primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8809597234 a.yiv8809597234primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8809597234 WordPress.com | | |

Leave a comment