Patience, grasshopper

I’m off to a good start on my skirt.  Drafting was really quite simple and things fit pretty well out of the gate.

It is pulling up at center back though.  I THINK this has to do with my, ahem, curvy backside.  I think I know how to fix it, but I need to have a little more time to mess around with it.  I have to say I’m not a fan of doing multiple muslins, but it has been long enough that I’ve struggled with skirt fit, that I’m willing to wait a little longer.  I have to focus on the more immediate rewards to keep myself going…like the fact that I drafted my own skirt?! 

I also made some pattern weights–some being 3 dozen.  Laying out pieces to cut is the most dreary part of sewing for me and pinning takes forever, making the process so much worse.  Given that I never have enough canned goods in the house and that it stresses me out to be missing them when I’m cooking, I figured it was time to get serious. 

Off to Home Depot I went and got 6 dozen (!) big washers for 11 cents each.  They were pretty greasy (hey, they were 11 cents), so I scrubbed them off, put them in stacks of two and covered them with bits of leftover ribbon/bias tape/fabric strips/piping…whatever.  A little  hot glue to keep everything tacked down and I have a huge set of cute, functional weights that pretty much eliminate my need for time sucking pins.  Woo hoo!

4 thoughts on “Patience, grasshopper

  1. I am loving your fabric weights. I just started a garment fitting class and this was on the materials list so I threw a bunch of rocks into a ziplock bag – lol! Yours are very cute.

  2. Those pattern weights are so cool. Maybe I can get my mom to help me make some sometime.

    Thank you for your nice comments about the skirt that I made. I hope you will come back and visit me again soon.

  3. You are a GENIOUS!! 😀 I might have to make a trip to Home Depot!! Hope you have a good week..I am trying to catch up…I really like that skirt in your last post..did you find that pattern??

Leave a comment