Almost teal skirt and a pattern test

I’ve had this printed sateen in my stash for a good long time.  It was in a little flat fold at Denver Fabrics and I passed it by a couple of times thinking I’d regret it if I didn’t pick it up.  It just screamed at me (hello it’s a teal-ish [not quite as dark] print in a natural fiber) that it wanted to be a skirt.  Does fabric talk to you like that?

Fast forward a couple of years, and I picked up Ottobre 5-2007-9 in one of my daydreaming sessions looking through my magazine stash.  It’s a basic A-line skirt with some fun patch pockets in front, denim style pockets in back, a hip yoke, and belt loops.  I always appreciate Ottobre for their good drafting and excellent basics.  Sometimes I get bogged down trying to add too many details.  It’s refreshing to do something simple once in a while

I cut a straight 34, but it is definitely big.  I could have and probably should have taken the side seams in a little bit.  I’m okay with it–it just sits a little lower on my hips than normal, but that’s fine by me.  It’s so cool to wear which is a blessed relief when we’ve had a couple of days already in the 80s.

The top is my trial for Maria’s kimono sleeve tee that that I think she will be offering on her website as a download soon.  I was lucky enough to get to pretest it.  It came together quickly (50 minutes which included fitting the side seams!), and I love the effortless style of it.  Also, it’s very cool.  My 3/4 length sleeved tops are not going to get as much use I fear if this heat keeps up.  As I am not particularly crazy about sleeveless tops, this sleeve is a great alternative.  Ladylike, comfortable, fitted enough, yet relaxed.  And it takes hardly any fabric at all.  I used this remnant of cotton/poly/spandex that I pulled from the $2/lb. table at Denver Fabrics that had this weird bias chunk ruthlessly hacked off of it.  I always love heathered grey jersey, so I pick it up when I find it.  I had planned to use it for the kids, not really evaluating the spandex amount (a rather girly fiber I think).  I was thrilled that I had enough to make this top.

My full review of the skirt is here.

Also, my kids are hilarious:

This boy loves his dirt.

I look down from cooking dinner yesterday to find #1 having wearing this getup.  I laughed hard and long.  Is waxed paper as effective as foil in stopping alien mind control I wonder?

7 responses to “Almost teal skirt and a pattern test

  1. Very cute skirt and top! I also have a soft spot for heather grey jersey :D. Heehee, love the dirty baby pic — so cute!

  2. kattheengineer

    Fabric definitely talks to me!! Right now, my stash is saying “use me”…

    I like the skirt a lot, and it doesn’t look noticeably too big. The photos of your children are pretty darned funny, too!

  3. Great skirt– love the fabric! (And the pics of the kiddos are pretty cute.)

  4. You look great. Fabric does talk to me, just don’t tell anyone ok.
    The skirt is a lovely design and you’re work is very good.

  5. Katharine in Brussels

    Awwww! Those little magical boys have stolen the show! Yes, fabrics do speak to me like that too :)

  6. Pingback: MMM 3, 4 including experiments with bleach! « ~E Made This!

  7. Pingback: MMM day 5 and 6 and realizations about jeans « ~E Made This!

Leave a Reply

