Daily Archives: October 7, 2009

My Mom can’t believe this one.

ruffletop

In my life I’ve never done frilly things. Ever. My Mom tried to put me in bows and lace and ruffles and I protested every time. Not that I wasn’t girly…I was always plenty girly, just not like that.

I think she’s laughing inside now that I’m discovering that lace is pretty fun–particularly to sew and that ruffles are also fun to so and rather intriguing to me.

Hence this Simplicity top. I picked it up during one of those Hobby Lobby $.99 pattern sale a few months ago(the coolest sales ever!) and I’ve been taken with it ever since. There was no need for me to do an FBA because the pattern so kindly provided a seperate pattern for B, C, and D cups. Thanks Simplicity!

Simplicity 2599

What I learned:

ruffledetail

  1. How to sew a ruffle  It’s so stinking fun.  I basted it on by hand once it was pinned to the top–much easier/less scary than using the machine.  It also was a better choice because this gingham is pretty sheer.  I made a camisole the other day to go under it because all of my camisoles don’t fit my post-pregnancy body. 
  2. How to make waist darts  I’m slowly learning how to fit my body.  I’m short (5′ 2 1/2″), but I’m also curvy, and if I don’t fit my waist well, I look about 15 lbs heavier than I actually am which on my frame is rather elephantine.  Although my waist measurement is between 2.5 and 3.5 inches larger than my pattern size (depending on the time of day…grr), I find that commercial patterns are ALWAYS too big in that region.  So I’ve been basting the sides together and trying on my tops and pinning out the excess and resewing along my new lines.  The problem is, as much as I need to typically take out right at the waist causes drag lines under my bust…not so cute.  I posted on patternreview and a very helpful lady suggested adding waist darts in the front and the back–GENIUS!!!  This takes care of the fullness that happens at the waist while additionally adding some very figure flattering contouring.  It’s like the best of all possible worlds.  Here’s what she writes:  “Draw a vertical line down from your apex parallel to your CF, this will be the center line of your dart. At your waist line, make a cross mark 1/4 in. on each side of the line. The dart should start 1 to 1 1/2 in. below your apex & end about 3 to 3 1/2 in. below your waist & pass thru those cross marks. You may be able to take slightly more than 1/4 in. depending on the shape of your abdomen.

    You can make your vertical line in back the same distance from your CB as your front line is from CF. In back you can mark 1/2 in. to each side of the line. It should start about armhole level & extend to 4 1/2 or 5 in. below your waist.

    If this is still not enough shaping you can duplicate the same darts about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 in. away from the 1st dart (toward your side seam).”

  3. How to blind hem  I’ve really wanted to do this for a long time, but every illustration/tutorial I’ve seen hadn’t made sense.  I saw this one via another blog.  Now I get it.

Things I’m wondering about:

  1. This is the second top I’ve made recently that had a center back opening and it gaped a bit at the top.  I’m not sure if that’s something with my body or the style…must investigate.
  2. I finally get that silly “back waist” measurement that’s on the pattern envelope and how it relates to me.  I have to shorten every bodice–now I get by how much!  On this top I kind of guessed at how much to take out instead of taking out what I needed to…not bad, but it could be better.