Daily Archives: April 18, 2012

Once upon a time

there was a girl who bought a sewing machine.  She never thought that she would be sewing clothes.  Ever.  Then she tried, failed, tried again, and kept on going.  Then she started sewing knits and wondered if she needed a serger. She didn’t like the way that her beloved sewing machine made her knits look kind of homemadeish and heard that a serger could do a better job.  So she test drove a serger and took it home.  It took some time to get used to, but her serger became a valuable friend.  Then her serger had to go into the shop and get cleaned, and that’s where we find our fearless heroine now.

And since the serger has been in the shop, I’ve managed to make a half wadder/half success pair of pants (more on that tomorrow), batch trace and cut a whole table’s worth of patterns, [what's up with the wrench?] muslin a vest (I need to alter it, but I rarely alter muslins the same day I make them), do a lot of Burda daydreaming, and begin the long task of organizing the stash .  Oh, and I’m working on dyeing/bleaching what was before this afternoon an unnaturally bright length of coral twill.

But really all I want to do is sew, and I’m going positively bonkers without my serger.  I had no idea how much I used it until it was gone.  I go between both my machines so much that starting a project without it being there is like missing my right arm.  I get to pick it up tomorrow though, and I reckon the two of us will be burning rubber to make up for a week and a half of missed time.

Lori had a poll up a while back on what you do when you can’t sew.  The majority of people voted that they read their favorite sewing blogs.  Me, I’m mostly a dreamer/planner.  How about you?  What do you do when for whatever reason you can’t sew as much as your usual?