My iron is evil: a reader’s poll

At some point it will happen to you.  You end up melting a piece of fabric when you don’t have enough extra to replace it and you’re about 70% through your garment.  Today it happened to me:

That would be the faux leather on the collar of my mostly finished motorcycle jacket.  I had my press cloth over the interior of the collar as I was getting ready to press it and the iron grabbed the unprotected outside.  Forget that it happened, the question now is what to do about it.  I didn’t have enough faux leather left over after my welt pockets to cut another collar, so my options are thus:

1.  Sew the collar in the jacket body fabric.  Not to sway any opinions, but it’s a motorcycle jacket, right?  There’s brass zippers and faux leather welt pockets–it kind of needs the leather on the collar to keep that edge going.

2.  Piece the collar:

This is a fast and easy solution for sure, but be honest, how bad does it look?  I kind of think it’s okay, but that could be the desperate part of me that just wants to finish this jacket, and we all know how clear our thinking is in those moments.

3. Get replacement fabric:  This will involve packing up the kids and trekking to Denver Fabrics or giving up weekend time with my family to go down there just with Sam.  They probably still have this, and if not, I’m sure they have something that will coordinate with it.

4.  Put in the faux fur collar:  This is not so much of an option for me.  The plan for this jacket was to make it with the faux leather collar and make a faux fur detachable collar with this pretty winter fox I have in keeping with the Wardrobe Sew Along.  It’s 70 degrees right now though, so if I put in a fur collar, I probably will only get to wear this jacket once or twice before fall.  Keeping the collar detachable gives me some options on the remaining cold days left this winter.

One thing I know for sure is that I am not touching this jacket with a ten foot pole today.  I’m going to trace off this dress (Burdastyle 6-2010-109)Modell Photoand be thankful that knit dresses don’t cause you so much grief.

So what option would you choose in my shoes, dear reader:

ETA: As neat and statistical polls are, I’d really like to hear people’s opinions on the collar too.  Have you had your own fabric meltdowns at inopportune moments?

6 responses to “My iron is evil: a reader’s poll

  1. I really think that it will look like part of the design if you use the pieced collar. Several times when l’ve not had enough fabric and had to devise an alternate plan, the finished garment looked better…more creative. Multiple seams appear to be everywhere in fashion now.

  2. julieculshaw

    How about sewing a blue collar and trimming it with the faux leather as a binding on the edge?

  3. Another option, if there is enough of the faux leather to put a band on the color of the jacket fabric in the width of the zipper bands. Maybe make an attachable color of the leather stuff later. Sometimes an error, gets the creative juices going so you get that truely unique project.

    Any woman who can design that button front skirt with be able to figure this out. I am sending positive thoughts to you.

  4. Honestly, I didn’t even notice that the replacement collar was pieced. I was trying to figure out why it wouldn’t work, like maybe you wanted to do the undercollar in faux leather, too. Def piece.

    And yes, I have melted fabrics at inopportune moments, as in my CHEAP ASS MOOD FABRIC blouse. http://theslapdashsewist.blogspot.com/2008/01/cheap-ass-mood-fabric.html I just finished it with the melted front panel (the melting isn’t obvious unless you touch it).

  5. Linda (mock ups)

    How about piecing it together with a zipper? Zippers are so in.

  6. I hate when that stuff happens. It can be depressing. You’ll get it fixed and looking good though. It appears I’m the only one who voted for the blue collar. But which ever you pick will be awesome.

    By the way I wanted to see if you’d looked at the McCalls 5391 shorts. I’ve made that one tring to make that same Jcrew short you love, the pink pair. They are cute. You could totally make them.

Leave a Reply

