Happy leap week

I’ve been puttering around kind of wracking my brain over a jacket and making a skirt way more difficult than necessary.  I was just thinking that I needed to just take an hour or so and make a knit top to give my mind a break but still give my creativity a boost.  At that very moment, I came across Trena’s post about leap day and wearing yellow and blue (leap days’ official colors apparently) and inspiration struck.  I was not only inspired by her yellow, but by the opportunity to colorfully celebrate the 220th birthday of Rossini, who is in my top 5 of favorite opera composers.

I’ve had remnants of the Milly rayon jersey I used for this dress hanging about waiting for a project.  I thought about making pajama shorts and a cami, but I didn’t have quite enough.  My coral Jalie scarf collar top is getting a little threadbare, so I’ve been kicking around the idea of replacing it.  When I saw Trena’s lovely yellow dress, I knew what I had to do.  I had just enough to squeeze a cap-sleeved version of the scarf collar out of the scraps I had leftover from the dress.  I cut it out at 4 pm and had all but the hems and side seams finished by 5 when the kids woke up.

I came back after dinner to finish though only to find that the ceiling in the sewing room was leaking!  Quelle horreur!  You can imagine how excited I am about being a plumbing assistant.  We have a container in place under the pipe in the kitchen that’s the culprit until we have more time on the weekend, but needless to say, my quick top didn’t materialize as quickly as I would have hoped.

By the time I got back to it, I had very little time to wear it and “officially” celebrate leap day, so I decided to declare it leap week.  I leave you with some Beverly Sills and “Una Voce Poco Fa” from the Barber of Seville. (could this woman have been more brilliant?)

 

5 responses to “Happy leap week

  1. I love your yellow top and the pattern seems to be very adaptable. I also really need quick projects these days. I seem to have lost my sewing mojo and have been busy knitting.

    Thank you for the link to Beverly Sills. I have been a fan of hers for a long time. I bet you already know her family called her Bubbles. I was also enjoying the dress she was wearing. It was in a soft color to look very young and virginal which was at odds to the lyrics of an imp. Also the jewels and feathers on the dress let us know she a member of a very well to do family. I did make a few costumes for the local theater in the past.

    You really get a lot of sewing done during nap time. Ir reminds of Nancy Zeman’s {?} book TEN, FIFTEEN, TWENTY MINUTES TO SEW. You are doing many of the things she suggests. I am really looking forward to more of your sewing adventures.

  2. Ha! Plumbing disasters never happen at good times.
    I don’t know if I’ve seen a short sleeved version of the scarf collar top. The yellow is so cheerful. I just bought this pattern, so I’m glad to see people are still making it (:

  3. I hope your plumbing issue was resolved over the weekend! There is nothing more ominous than that little drip drip drip of water. Other home maintenance stuff I don’t love but can deal with, but when I had a leak I really wished I was still renting.

    Love your leap day outfit! So festive. `-)

  4. Pingback: MMM12 day 1 « ~E Made This!

  5. Pingback: MMM ’12 day 8 « ~E Made This!

Leave a Reply

