Daily Archives: February 1, 2012

Details

Whew.  I’m exhausted.  I’m working on making up my jeans for Patternreview’s Jeans Contest and it has been rather slow going.  I’m in the mood to work slowly and I also had to redo my back pockets.  One of the ladies from my fitting group graciously gave me some tear away stabilizer, but I didn’t practice with any scraps of it.  I ended up using too long of a stitch length and my tension was all whacked, so the topstitching thread was all loopy gross and the stabilizer was lost for good.  I tried zigzagging over the gross loopies because I’ve seen plenty of RTW jeans with satin stitched sorts of designs on the back pockets, but it wasn’t what I was looking for.  That was yesterday.

Today, with fresh eyes, I pulled out some Solvy that I keep around for stabilizing buttonholes.  I fused some interfacing to the back of my pockets to keep the denim stretch to a minimum.  Then I traced my design on the Solvy and pinned in place.  I shortened my stitch length to 3.0 vs the 3.5 that I was using yesterday.  The Solvy is really thin, so it pulls out very gently (I used tweezers close to the stitching) which kept the topstitching thread from pulling out.

I also French seamed the pockets.

 I wanted a pocket bag entirely out of the voile leftover from the HotPatterns pajamas of doom.  I love this fabric so much and a voile pocket would reduce bulk in the hips (who doesn’t want that?!).  If I had left it entirely out of voile, the voile would have been peeking out the top of the pocket no matter how well I pressed.  To save myself a fight with my iron, I added a little strip of denim at the top of the pocket facing.

No iron wars, and I still get the pretty pocket guts:

I’m going to keep on trucking with these.  I’m waiting on all of my hardware in the mail except rivets.  I probably won’t get around to posting more until closer to the contest’s end, but since I put in a good bit of work, I thought I’d do a quick post today.  Readers, what is taking over your sewing rooms today?