Because I don’t wear red and green

Maybe I’m a rebel, maybe I just hate primary red and kelly green, but this year I decided I’d forego even trying to deck myself out in Christmas colors and wear something to play at church for Christmas Eve that is more me (because I’d rather think about the birth of my Lord than how much I hate wearing red and green).  Out of the fog of this chest cold I’ve had all week, my favorite palette of aquas seemed just perfect.

My hair’s still a little damp, so you can see a lot more of the red and less of the blonde.  The dress is version #2 of Burdastyle 06-2010-132 in a fun ITY from Denver Fabrics.  Something is up with the way the skirt drapes around my knees…I think it’s a compounded issue that starts at the ruching at the side seams.  I’ve been thinking it’s just static, which is never in short supply here in CO.  A few sprays of Static Guard revealed otherwise.  Next time I’ll make the skirt a little more A-line to compensate for that.

The cardigan is version #2 of Simplicity 2560.  I folded out ALL of the gathers on the lower sections of the cardigan and I made a different view (A) than I did before.  I really really like the streamlined look much better than the original.  It makes it easier to belt and takes away from the bulk that is already present due to le baby.

Noah’s sporting his sleeper I made for him from the leftover double knit I had from my skirt and some great baseball interlock I found.  I made a fast applique from some white interlock, backed with Heat ‘n Bond Lite and embellished with a tiny bit of hand embroidery.  The pattern (Butterick 5585) is just so-so. 

The leg and neck finishes are iffy at best, and the legs are really long (as you can see).  If I had been thinking, I would have traced off the sleeper that was in the December issue of Burdastyle as it looks like a much better pattern.  Oh well.  It’s baseball-y (which makes Nathan really happy) and the extra length means this one will last us until it gets warmer at night.

I will update my reviews when we get to Nathan’s parents and put up a new one for Noah’s sleeper.  Beyond that, I hope everyone has a safe and happy Christmas and a good start to the new year!

4 responses to “Because I don’t wear red and green

  1. Great outfit!! I bucked the system too and wore maroon… You look wonderful, and aqua is a great color for you.

  2. Very pretty outfits! You showed you could celebrate Jesus’ birthday without the typical festive colors. It’s cool how the little ones join in on the fashion fun. Your baby is adorable!

  3. Pingback: Still not tired of this « ~E Made This!

  4. Pingback: Houndstooth dress! | ~E Made This!

Leave a Reply

