Color my thread

Sew Mama Sew is doing a thread stash meme, so I’ll throw my hat in the ring.

 * How did you select colors for your personal thread collection?  Color is so inspirational to me.  If I see a color that I love, I get it.  My collection is heavy in blues and teals and reds, as I wear mostly teals and blues and accent in reds, but I have a little bit of every color.
    * Do you always match the color perfectly to your project? 98% of the time I do.  I’m anal detail-oriented like that.
    * Do you ever use contrasting thread?  I do when I’m marking hems or basting things so that I can find those threads later to take them out.  I don’t usually topstitch in contrasting colors because it’s so obvious if you mess up, but once in a while I like the detail.
    * Do you use the same color in the bobbin as the upper thread?  Sometimes yes, sometimes no.
    * What if a fabric has big areas of very different colors?  I try to pick the color out of however many that blends in the most.
    * Do you have any tips or suggestions about choosing thread?  People respond differently to color, so I think you have to find what works for you.  I don’t want to hate on Coats and Clark, but my machine is way more excited about Mettler Metrosene and Gutermann.  I think their spools just work better on my machine.  Mettler’s silk finish cotton thread is so awesome for topstitching–it feels great!
    * Can you show us a picture(s) of your thread collection? The above picture is of my colored threads.  My husband made these little paper boxes and all of them fit into a big tackle box where all the thread is stored to keep it out of the air so it lasts longer and is easily accessible to me.  I have a box of neutral colored thread as well, but neutrals are about as inspirational to me as dirt, so I don’t keep them as nicely organized.

    * Do you ever buy thread because you fall in love with the color (without a particular project in mind)?  Of course.  I’m a color junkie.  Give me a set of anything ordered by color, and I’m there!
    * Do you “invest” in thread? Yes.  How can you pass up 50% off sales, especially on serger thread?
     * What types of thread do you have? (elastic, quilting, all-purpose, wool, etc.) serger, mostly all-purpose, some silk thread for hand sewing and basting delicate fabrics, some fine thread, cotton for sewing lining fabrics, and a whole lot of vintage thread I pick up in thrift stores to use as hand basting thread and because the spools are so awesome (my son loves to play with them).  I have a of white hand quilting thread around all the time because I’m a yoyo addict.

One response to “Color my thread

  1. Our machines don’t like Coats & Clark either. I always use Gutermann since it’s easily accessible at Joanns.

Leave a Reply

