Looking back at 2009

I’m not a resolutiony kind of person.  I figure my perfectionistic tendencies get enough of a workout on a daily basis that to put that on my plate on Jan 1st is a bit overkill and overwhelming.  With that, I’ll keep my general goal (which is shockingly similar to when I was teaching) in my sewing of upping my skills one seam at a time.  It’s worked pretty well this past year, so why fix what ain’t broke.  In reality, I probably have like 59000 sewing goals, but they all fall under the umbrella of this general goal, so I won’t firehose you with the minutiae of these right now, but you’ll probably hear about them along the way.  So, without ado, what did this last year bring?

~I realized that all these sewing skills I’ve been building can be put to use for the sake of other people close by and around the world.

~I saved a really cool quilt from the thrift store.

~I made myself some maternity dresses.

~I taught friends how to pull strudel for my birthday.

~After 7 years, I left my position as a music teacher to an amazing group of 1st-6th graders at an equally amazing school with wonderful colleagues so that I could pursue my dream of being a stay-at-home Mom to my so-worth-every-minute-of-lost-sleep son, Noah, who by the way, is more incredible, funny, industrious, and sweet-natured than I ever could have imagined him to be.  My sweet husband and I are truly blessed.

~After giving birth, I really really started my journey learning to make clothes after swearing up and down 2 years ago that I’d NEVER EVER make clothes because I didn’t want things to look homemade (I still don’t–I want to up my skills so that they DON’T).  It’s only been 6+ months since I made that goal, but I’m pretty jazzed by how far I’ve come.  From this to this for a fast example, and there’s too many pictures and posts for a broader example for me to catalog here.

~I took a facings class on Patternreview.  It was wonderful, and I learned so much.  Were I not so impatient, it would have helped me with this dress, and it DID help me with this one.  I plan to take more classes like this.  I’m ready to embrace my continual thirst for education.

~I started learning how to fit clothes to my body and to others too thanks to this, this, and this.  So fun, so empowering.

~I got to play in Oktoberfest.  See me look in awe upon these swell accordion players.  To adapt a quote from Moonstruck, “What you don’t know aboutaccordionis a lot“.  Gots to get practicing those polkas.

~I listened to and saw a truckload of opera.  TRUCK-LOAD…like 30 something. 

~I made a button down shirt for my Mom!  Of course, I forgot the camera on Christmas.  Poo.  A picture and review will follow soon.

Overall, it’s been a good year here at E Made This.  As we approach this new year, I will wish my favorite blessing upon you from Numbers 6:24-26: The LORD bless you, and keep you;  The LORD make His face shine on you, And be gracious to you;  The LORD lift up His countenance on you, And give you peace.’.

4 responses to “Looking back at 2009

  1. I’m so happy for you that you are able to stay home with your son. You made the right choice. God will bless you for this.

    Sounds like you had a great year, and here’s wishing you another one.

  2. Noah is adorable. You’ve had a rich and full year.

  3. you’ve come a long way baby…I’m so happy to have been on the journey with you!! I have learned so much and I am in constant “inspired” mode after reading your latests endeavors!! Can’t wait to see how your mom’s shirt turned out!! And can I say, what a beautiful boy Noah is!!! Hope your New year is as full and wonderful as this last year has been!! xo

  4. Noah is a handsome little boy! Congratulations on all the sewing progress you have made in the past year. I look forward to seeing all you do this year too.

Leave a Reply

