I’ve been tagged…

I got tagged by Ann at Winter’s Edge Home to list 5 things I love about Christmas.  Here they are…

1.  Christmas Cookies–if you haven’t figured that out by now, I will metaphorically say how much I love them in big tacky flashing lights.  I love making them, I love eating them (though I can’t this year so much), and I love giving them.  Christmas=happy fun baking time in my house.  It always has and always will.

2. Jesus–last year I sat down and found just a few of the many many passages in the whole Bible that either account Jesus’ birth or prophesy it.  I realize that Tolkien got the idea about the hobbit and the ring from his life as a Christian, but seriously–how amazing was it that the Lord brought the biggest promise in the least likely of places anyone would look for it?  Amazing.  Every time I think about it.

3.  Eggnog–not the liquored up stuff.  The stuff laden with cream and sugar and eggy goodness sprinkled with fresh nutmeg on top.  I allow myself 1 quart a year to drink all by myself.  Thankfully Nathan thinks it’s disgusting.  Sadly I had to give it up this year what with the milk intolerance, so I had a quart of Silk Nog, which isn’t bad, just not as rich and tasty.  I’m kicking around the idea of coming up with some coconut milk version. 

4.  The tree–I love how the lights illuminate the little ornaments and no matter how old I get, it’s magic the first time the lights go on.  I used to sit as a kid and sit and stare at the tree and imagine the presents (Nathan’s family puts them under the tree way before Christmas and Santa brings the stocking gifts–I always liked the anticipation, but this way is fun too).

5.  Giving gifts–it’s so fun to give something to someone that they like/appreciate.  If it came from your own hands, it’s even better.  Not that recognition is the goal, but the ability to give something to someone in which a piece of your heart went into it.  It’s just special and myserious in a way.  It IS more blessed to give than receive, but not in the way that you would think at first.  It’s a gift that brings warmth to your heart in this quiet sort of peaceful way.

I shall tag 2 others:

Hearth and Home

Uklassinus

And I’m done with Happy Holidays.  If Merry Christmas offends you, I’m sorry, but I will continue to say it because I am sincerely wishing you and your family all of the hope and joy and peace of Christmas–the hope and joy and peace wrapped up in one little child who was God Himself who came that we might have a different kind of hope.

Leave a Reply

