A new bag for me

I’m a fan of small bags.  It’s been my observation that whatever sized bag I have, I WILL fill it up, and one that carries just the essentials is not only more convenient, but a whole lot less cumbersome.  I’ve had my eye on messenger bags for some time now.  I love the shape of them and the fact that they are hands-free–a big plus in purses for me.  All the patterns that you find are for HUGE bags.  I don’t need to carry my laptop around every single day, so I resolved to create my own pattern for a wee messenger bag. 

 

This is what I came up with.  

   I made it out of a pair of charcoal wool blend pants that I got for free and lined it with the same lining fabric I made for my sister-in-law’s diaper bag I made for her in October (?) from an Amy Butler pattern (awesome pattern that yielded a super comfy bag, but I have all these weird remnants of fabric from it because of how the pattern is laid out) and interfaced it with denim leftover from this project.  It turned out really well.  I think I would add a little bit more interfacing next time only because the wool was pretty lightweight.  It’s mondo comfy to wear too.

 Don’t forget to leave a comment for the super cute grocery bag from my last post.  You can leave a comment up until midnight mountain time on Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

