Daily Archives: March 14, 2008

Polka Therapy…well some day.

So my aunt Gina (who I made the purse for in January) used to play the accordion.  I always thought that was cool growing up, but I have ALWAYS been a violinist.  I HAD to take class piano in college for my music ed degree and I passed my finals due to the grace of God and TA’s that were very generous.  During my sophomore year, I had a really difficult living situation.  That was the year that I really discovered polka.  You can’t listen to polka and be upset for too long.  Seriously.  Ever.  It’s impossible.  And if you can, you have a black black heart.  So sometime maybe a year ago I decided–hey, I have some reasonable piano skills and I have an extra violin that I’ve needed to sell, so why not sell that and buy an accordion?  Well, Sunday, I finally found one through the beauty of Craigslist.  It’s awesome.  It’s good for me to have a different musical outlet besides my violin.  I think sometimes I get bogged down with perfection when it comes to playing my violin and I forget about the sheer joy of playing.  So someday when I figure out all these crazy buttons, I’ll play polkas myself when I’m feeling blue and I’ll brighten people’s days.

accordion.jpg